Skip to content Skip to navigation

SAPAAC Distinguished Student Award

The SAPAAC Senior Award is presented annually to a graduating senior who has demonstrated outstanding service to the Stanford Asian American community and the Asian American community at large.  With each year, Stanford alums are impressed with the continued dedication, passion, and contributions to the Stanford Asian American community and beyond. A plaque honoring the work of these new alums is displayed at the A³C.  The following recipients are listed below:


Vy Luu

This year’s winner radiates service, love, and dedication to the Stanford community and beyond. Vy Luu was described by her nominators as a community builder, someone who is too humble to discuss all that they do, and a person who truly “walks the walk”.
Vy led an Asian American Issues ASB trip early on in their Stanford career, and one nominator brought up that other leaders believe her cohort is abnormally close, a testament to the strong sense of community she fostered during their trip. In addition, many of these participants have strong presences in the Asian American community at Stanford and credit Vy with introducing them to the political identity of being Asian American and sparking within them the desire to enact change.
One of our other nominators especially noted Vy's dedication to service and community. In addition to staffing at Branner, the public service dorm and co-chairing Listen to the Silence, the largest Asian American issues conference at Stanford, this year, she completed her senior honor’s thesis that explores how Southeast Asian American youth-serving organizations shape their programs in response to the needs of Southeast Asians, which builds upon an extremely small body of literature on Southeast Asians, serving as an inspiration for future Asian American students hoping to do similar research that is largely unexplored.

2016: Kunal Sangani

2015: Kue Chang

2014: Nujsaubnusi Vue

2013: Justim Lam

2012: Trac Dang

2011: Stephanie Otani-Sunamoto

2010: Henry Tsai

2009: Christian Ngo

2008: Yang Lor

2007: Linda Lee

2006: Linda Tran

2005: Sheila Laqui

2004: Ricky Wang

2003: Michael Chang

2002: Rajen Desai

2001: Tim Ly

2000: Shelley Tadaki

1999: Jane Kim

1998: Aly Kassam-Remtulla

1997: Kris Hayashi

1996 Lan Phan