Skip to content Skip to navigation

Asian American Awards Ceremony

Students receiving awards

Stanford Asian American Awards was created by the Asian American Activities Center ( A³C) Advisory Board, which has served as an advocacy board to the Asian, Asian American and larger Stanford communities. Since its inception in 1990, the board has consistently promoted a greater awareness of Asian American students at Stanford and has assisted A³C in serving students more effectively. This award ceremony gathers together members of the Stanford Asian American community and recognizes individuals for their tremendous service, achievement and dedication.

The recipients of the Stanford Asian American Awards are selected from a wide range of individuals throughout the Stanford Asian American community. Categories for each sector of the community have been established to fully recognize those who have demonstrated outstanding dedication and service to the Asian American community at Stanford and beyond.

The Stanford Asian American Awards dinner honors faculty, staff, alumni and undergraduate and graduate students for their outstanding achievements and service. The dinner is an opportunity for all segments of the community to come together, renew ties and look forward to new collaborations and projects.

2018 Awards Recipients:


Undergraduate Awards

  • Special Achievement Award: Lina Khouer
  • Special Achievement Award: Jason Li
  • Public Service Award: Davis Chhoa
  • Public Service Award: Joriene Mercado
  • Community Building Award: Shakthi Raman
  • Gender and Sexuality Issues Award: Hilary Sun
  • Performing/Fine Arts Award: Vineet Gupta
  • Performing/Fine Arts Award: Yeji Jung
  • Research Award: Savannah Pham

Graduate Awards

  • Leadership Award: Tina Cheuk
  • VPGE Research Award: Lucy Zhang Bencharit

Faculty Awards

  • Gilbert Chu
  • Kathryn Gin Lum

Staff Award

  • Warren Chiang
  • Curie Sevilla

Alumni Award

  • Ron Nakao '82, MA '03, PhD '07

See list of past awardees.