Skip to main content Skip to secondary navigation

Asian American Awards Ceremony

Main content start

Stanford Asian American Awards was created by the Asian American Activities Center ( A³C) Advisory Board, which has served as an advocacy board to the Asian, Asian American and larger Stanford communities. Since its inception in 1990, the board has consistently promoted a greater awareness of Asian American students at Stanford and has assisted A³C in serving students more effectively. This award ceremony gathers together members of the Stanford Asian American community and recognizes individuals for their tremendous service, achievement and dedication.

The recipients of the Stanford Asian American Awards are selected from a wide range of individuals throughout the Stanford Asian American community. Categories for each sector of the community have been established to fully recognize those who have demonstrated outstanding dedication and service to the Asian American community at Stanford and beyond, especially during this global pandemic.

The Stanford Asian American Awards Gala honors faculty, staff, alumni and undergraduate and graduate students for their outstanding achievements and service. The gala is an opportunity for all segments of the community to come together, renew ties, and look forward to new collaborations and projects.

2021 Awards Recipients:

Undergraduate Awards

  • Special Achievement Award: Theresa Gao
  • Public Service Award: Alyssa Bautista Romanos
  • Public Service Award: Rachael Kia Xiong
  • Community Building Award: Melody Yang
  • Gender/Sexuality Issues Award: Matthew Haide Zheng
  • Performing/Fine Arts Award: AnQi Yu
  • Research Award: Sarah Maung

Graduate Awards

  • Leadership Award: Bright Pan Zhou
  • Leadership Award: Katherine Liu
  • VPGE Research Award: Laura Wai Ng

Faculty Award

  • Sharika Thiranagama
  • Belinda Bandstra

Staff Award

  • Shirley Mak
  • Maria Gregorio & Lindsay Mancebo

Alumni Award

  • Russell Jeung '84

See list of past awardees.

Submit a Nomination

Register for the Event